“Hollywood & Indian Country’s Biggest Night for American Indian & Indigenous Voices”™
Cementing Native Indigenous at the forefront of the Entertainment Industry

Hollywood has Oscar, Broadway has Tony, Television has the Emmy, and Indian Country has the Red Nation Film Award of Excellence™

The RNCI Red Nation Awards

27th Season

Produced by Red Nation Films

Congratulations to this year’s nominees and official selections, we are proud to showcase another year of cinematic excellence. #WhoTellsTheStoryMatters #NativesInChargeOfTheirNarrative

Congratulations to the RNIFF 2022 award winners!

This year’s IN PERSON festival and Awards Ceremony proclaimed a full on return to theaters – and it was irresistible, ceremonial in the highest regard to Who Tells the Story Matters. The RNIFF is not over yet, we continue with online screenings and events; filmmaker conversations, Q&As, red carpet photos and exclusive interviews with the stars and filmmakers here.

Join us in celebrating the RNCI Red Nation Award WINNERS

And the Nominees Are:

Best Picture

  • On Sacred Ground – WINNER
  • A Love Song
  • Seven Ridges
  • A Winter Love

Achievement in Directing

  • On Sacred Ground: Rebecca Tickell, Josh Tickell – WINNER
  • A Love Song:  Max Walker-Silverman
  • Seven Ridges: Antonio Coello
  • A Winter Love: Rhiana Yazzie

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

  • Irene Bedard for On Sacred Ground
  • Rhiana Yazzie for A Winter Love
  • Kerry Knuppe for On Sacred Ground – WINNER
  • Darleen Romero Torres for Seven Ridges
  • Lidia Ibarra for Seven Ridges

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in Leading Role

  • Wes Studi for A Love Song – WINNER

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in Supporting Role

  • David Midthunder for On Sacred Ground – WINNER
  • Che Jim for On Sacred Ground

Best Documentary Feature

  • Powerlands – WINNER
  • The Doctrine of Recovery
  • Bring Her Home – WINNER
  • Okpik: Little Village in the Arctic
  • Oyate

Best Live Action

  • Mirror Man
  • Burros – WINNER
  • Dead Bird Hearts
  • Classique
  • Pehin
  • This Is Who I Am / Mii Maanda Iyaawayaa
  • The Red Orchid

Best Documentary Short

  • Cara Romero: Following the Light – WINNER
  • Saging the World
  • Faces From The Interior
  • Conviction
  • Without Water
  • Imalirijit
  • HERD
  • Rosalie Fish

Best Animated Short

  • I am the Warrior – WINNER
  • Soli Bula
  • Wâhkôhtowin | All My Relations
  • The Jungle Tale – “An Ordinary Life Until…”
  • Premonition: On the Eve of Signing Treaty 6

Best Television Series

  • Dark Winds – WINNER
  • Reservation Dogs – WINNER
  • LA Brea
  • Alaska Daily
  • Spirit Rangers
  • Ghosts

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama, Comedy, Limited Series

  • Grace Dove for Alaska Daily
  • Paulina Alexis – Reservation Dogs – WINNER
  • Devery Jacobs for Reservation Dogs
  • Tonantzin Carmelo for LA Brea
  • Jessica Matten for Dark Winds

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama, Comedy, Limited Series

  • Zahn McClarnon for Dark Winds
  • Kiowa Gordon for Dark Winds – WINNER
  • D’Pharaoh Woon-A-Tai for Reservation Dogs
  • Lane Factor for Reservation Dogs

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama, Comedy, Limited Series

  • Tonantzin Carmelo for LA Brea
  • Crystle Lightning for Ghosts
  • Sarah Podemski for Reservation Dogs – WINNER
  • Jana Schmieding for Reservation Dogs
  • Jennifer Podemski for Reservation Dogs
  • Irene Bedard for Alaska Daily

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama, Comedy, Limited Series

  • Román Zaragoza for Ghosts
  • Gary Farmer for Reservation Dogs – WINNER
  • Wes Studi for Reservation Dogs
  • Dallas Goldtooth for Reservation Dogs
  • Zahn McClarnon for Reservation Dogs

Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance

Spirit Rangers

  • Talon Proc Alford – WINNER
  • Roman Zaragoza
  • Cree Summer
  • Wes Studi
  • Tantoo Cardinal
  • Michelle Bardach

Red Nation Honors

  • The Courage Award – Jen Martel: Oyate
  • The Film Consultant Award – Larry ‘Bear” Wilson: Burros
  • The Misty Upham Award – Kali Reis: Catch The Fair One

Lifetime Achievement Award

Wes Studi

The Film Consultant Award

Larry ‘Bear’ Wilson

Misty Upham Award

Kali Reis

The Courage Award

Jen Martel

Fill out the form below to join as a crew member

Fill out the form below, and we will be in touch shortly.
Contact Information
RNIFF Logo Transparent

Celebrating 29 Years of the Native Narrative through Artist Development


Double the Impact


Sign Up Today to receive RNIFF News on Native Cinema

Support the Native Narrative

Creating Systemic Change through Film, Television, New Media and the Arts

Give Today