The Marlon Brando Award

Red Nation International Film Festival is the only festival in the world that has created the ‘The Marlon Brando Award’ in his honor for his commitment to the American Indian and cinematic arts. The Brando Award is intended to bring healing between the Entertainment Industry and Native Communities due to the fact of what take place on March 27, 1973, when Sacheen Littlefeather represented Marlon Brando at the 45th Academy Awards to decline the Best Actor award for his performance in The Godfather. Sacheen Littlefeather was the first Native person to step on the Academy Awards stage.¬†

Each year, the Festival Honors individuals with the ‘The Brando Award’ for their contributions to the American Indian. The Brando Award is presented at RNCI Red Nation Awards in the month of November in Beverly Hills CA.

The Brando Award is endorsed by Miko Brando, Marlon Brando son.

Past recipients

Johnny Depp 2012

Joanne Storkan 2015

Leonardo DiCaprio 2016

Taylor Sheridan 2018

Sacheen Littlefeather 2019

Support the Native Narrative

Creating Systemic Change through Film, Television, New Media and the Arts

Give Today